Announcement of the Jury and the Gala of the Stars

Prix de Lausanne 2023

International Ballet Competition – Beaulieu Theatre (Lausanne)

The anniversary edition of the Prix de Lausanne, which will take place from 29 January to 5 February 2023 in Beaulieu, will be presided by Jean-Christophe Maillot, choreographer and Director of the Ballets de Monte-Carlo. The Gala of the Stars celebrating the competition’s 50th anniversary will take place the Sunday following the Finals and will feature performances of exceptional dancers, most of whom are former competition Prize Winners who have become world-renowned artists. To conclude, five finalists have been selected for the third edition of the Young Creation Award, who will present their original choreographies during the competition week.

The 2023 Jury presided by Jean-Christophe Maillot

For this anniversary edition, the Prix de Lausanne gathered an exceptional Jury panel of 10 members. They are : Jean-Christophe Maillot (President), Diana Vishneva (Vice-President), Sylviane Bayard, Julie Kent, Tetsuya Kumakawa, Melanie Person, Christopher Powney, Martin Schläpfer, Endalyn Taylor and Christopher Wheeldon.

Kathryn Bradney, Prix de Lausanne’s Artistic and Executive Director “The Prix de Lausanne is very proud and honoured to have Jean-Christophe Maillot as the President of the Jury for this special 50-year anniversary! He is a leading light in the dance world and a distinct Prix de Lausanne Prize Winner success story through his experience starting from a very talented young dancer to an exceptional choreographer and highly respected Director worldwide.”

Artists of the Gala of the Stars

To celebrate its anniversary edition in style, the Prix de Lausanne has set up an exceptional gala, that will gather professional dancers who are mostly former Prize Winners or candidates of the competition and who are now evolving at an international level. They are: Precious Adams, Alejandro Martínez Azorín, Elisa Badenes, Matthew Ball, Mackenzie Brown, Antonio Casalinho, Victor Caxeita, Alina Cojocaru, Laura Fernandez, Margarita Fernandez, Marcelo Gomes, Maria Kochetkova, Julian Mackay, Mayara Magri, Steven McRae, Vadim Muntagirov, Xander Parish, Marcelino Sambé, Olga Smirnova, Eric Snyder, Mizuka Ueno, Friedemann Vogel and Madison Young. They will be dancing solos, pas de deux or original choreographies on the Beaulieu Theatre’s stage, on Sunday, 5 February 2023 at 4.30pm. Tickets for the Gala will be on sale online from 15 December 2022.

The finalists of the Young Creation Award 2023

The Young Creation Award, a choreographic competition for our partner schools and companies students, will take place for the third year in a row. 5 finalists have just been selected from the 56 submitted videos: Martin Balaban (Czech Republic), Elena Dombrowski (France), Hannah McCloughan (Australia), Nicholas Mihlar (Canada) and Aleisha Walker (USA). During the next Prix de Lausanne, these young choreographers will present their original solos to the competition’s Jury and the public on Wednesday 1 February 2023. The two winning choreographies will be added to the Prix de Lausanne’s contemporary repertoire in 2024.

  • Facebook
  • Google+
  • WordPress
Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>