Winners of Sharp Short Dance 2018

Outstanding Ensemble Performance & Catapult Secondment Winner ‘Lazer Beam’. All images Dom O’Donnell

Winners of Eleventh Annual Western Sydney Dance Festival Announced

Biggest Year for Sharp Short Dance

The winners of the 11th annual Sharp Short Dance festival, presented by FORM Dance Projects, were announced on Saturday 17th November following an impressive final event held at Riverside Theatres.

Sophie Carathanassis

Held over five days, this year’s Sharp Short Dance festival was the largest to date and is fast becoming a notable event on the Sydney dance calendar.

Sharp Short Dance aims to encourage youth participation in all genres of dance, and provide a platform for choreographers and dancers to showcase their talent and network with peers and industry experts.

The judging panel included members of the dance industry including Katina Olsen (former Bangarra Dance Theatre dancer), Cadi McCarthy (Catapult Dance), James Barry (Phly Crew), Omer Backley-Astrachan (coordinator of Sydney Dance Company’s Pre-Professional Year) and Emma Saunders (independent artist). Awards were presented by City of Parramatta Councillor Lorraine Wearne and the host of the event, dance artist Kay Armstrong.

Isaac Clark

A record number of 170 dancers competed in this year’s event. From a total of 53 dance works, 17 were selected to continue to the final.

Sophie Carathanassis, winner of Outstanding Female Dancer and the Sydney Dance Company Pre-Professional Year Secondment said, “A moment like this is a dream I thought would never come true. Sharp Short Dance has allowed me to see a new future for myself as a dancer.”

The 2018 Sharp Short Dance award winners are: 

Most Innovative ChoreographyOpal Russell (A Sigh)

Outstanding Male DancerIsaac Clark (Introvert Fractum)

Outstanding Female DancerSophie Carathanassis (Dark Matter)

Outstanding Solo PerformanceKarlia Cook (Tools of the Soul)

Annalise Malachowski

Outstanding Duet PerformanceMyra Maree Tauei and Jasmene Arokapiti (Island for Edge)

Outstanding Ensemble PerformanceAlex Mencinsky, Airu Matsuda, Lillian Grant, Brielle De Thomasis, Eliza Cooper, Katya Gray, Emalyn Knight, Mikayla Nangle, Jemima Smith, Georgia Adelt, and Joanne Hwang (Lazer Beams).

Audience Choice Award – Choreographer Brittney Webb and performers Amelie Pritchard, Brooke Cutler, Jade Mai, Nataly Fellew and Samya Kerde (Afterglow)

Sydney Dance Company, Pre-Professional Year SecondmentSophie Carathanassis (Dark Matter), Zane Carr and Amber Jade Smith (Instead), and Annalise Malachowski (Opulence)

Catapult Dance SecondmentOpal Russell (A Sigh)

Myra Maree Tauei and Jasmene Arokapiti

Catapult Dance Space ResidencyEliza Cooper (Lazer Beams)

Stalker Theatre SecondmentKarlia Cook (Tools of the Soul)

Phly Crew SecondmentBrittney Webb (Afterglow)

Dance Makers Collective Secondment – Nicola Ford and Sarah Goroch (Primation) and Alex Mencinsky (Opulence)

Teacher’s Recognition AwardKatie Duynhoven