Australian Dance Awards 2016 Shortlist

Ochre Contemporary Dance Company performing at the 2014 Sculpture by the Sea at Cottesloe beach, WA. Photo Dana Weeks Photography.

AusDance announces the Shortlisted Nominees for 2016 Awards

18th September | Perth

Tickets Now On Sale

The annual Australian Dance Awards recognise and honour professional Australian dance artists who have made an outstanding contribution to Australian dance.

The winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award for 2016 will be announced in August.
Presented by Ausdance and Harlequin Floors, the 2016 Australian Dance Awards will be held at The State Theatre Centre of Western Australia, Perth, Sunday 18 September at 6.30pm as part of the MoveMe Festival 2016.
Congratulations to all the shortlisted nominees!

Services to Dance

  • Geoff Cobham
  • Jennifer Irwin
  • Djakapurra Munyarryun
  • David Page

Services to Dance Education

  • Sally Chance
  • Joan Pope OAM
  • Katrina Rank
  • Kim Walker

Outstanding Achievement in Community Dance

  • Bangarra Dance Theatre for Rekindling Youth Program
  • Dancenorth for Twilight
  • TRACKSUIT (DADAA WA) for Small Fortunes
  • Rawcus for Catalogue

Outstanding Achievement in Youth Dance

  • Catapult Dance for The Flipside Project
  • Force Majeure & Powerhouse Youth Theatre for Jump First, Ask Later
  • QL2 Dance for Reckless Valour
  • Slide Youth Dance Theatre for Time

Outstanding Achievement in Choreography

  • Deborah Brown & Waangenga Blanco for I.B.I.S [Bangarra Dance Theatre]
  • Force Majeure, Kate Champion & Ghenoa Gela for Nothing to Lose [Force Majeure]
  • Lucy Guerin for Motion Picture [Lucy Guerin Inc.]
  • Frances Rings for Sheoak [Bangarra Dance Theatre]

Outstanding Performance by a Company

  • Bangarra Dance Theatre for Lore
  • Sydney Dance Company for Frame of Mind
  • Dancenorth for Spectra
  • West Australian Ballet for Ballet at the Quarry: Zip Zap Zoom

Outstanding Achievement in Independent Dance

  • Gareth Belling and Collusion for Desirelines
  • Antony Hamilton for NYX
  • Sue Healey for On View: Live Portraits
  • Victoria Hunt for Tangi Wai…the cry of water

Outstanding Performance by a Female Dancer

  • Madeleine Eastoe for Giselle [The Australian Ballet]
  • Amber Haines for Syncing Feeling [Dancenorth]
  • Elma Kris for Lore [Bangarra Dance Theatre]
  • Brooke Widdison-Jacobs for Cinderella [West Australian Ballet]

Outstanding Performance by a Male Dancer

  • Chengwu Guo for The Dream [The Australian Ballet]
  • Kevin Jackson for Giselle [The Australian Ballet]
  • David Mack for Frame of Mind [Sydney Dance Company]
  • Alisdair Macindoe for Motion Picture [Lucy Guerin inc.]

Outstanding Achievement in Commercial Dance, Musicals or Physical Theatre

  • Circa for Il Ritorno
  • Dream Dance Company for Genesis
  • Opera Australia and John Frost for Anything Goes
  • Michael Ralph for Georgy Girl

Outstanding Achievement in Dance on Film or New Media

  • Stephen Page for Spear
  • Pippa Samaya for Dancing in the Now
  • Meryl Tankard & Kate Croser for Michelle’s Story
  • Stephen Tannos for The Process