Aussie Dancers in Prix de Lausanne

Harrison Lee competing in the 2015 Prix de Lausanne. Photo by Gregory Batardon

Shortlisted Dancers Announced for 2016 Prix de Lausanne

Now into its 44th year, the prestigious international ballet competition – The Prix de Lausanne – has recently announced the 74 candidates that have been selected from nearly 300 dancers from around the world to compete in the next round of competition in Switzerland from 31 January – 7 February 2016.
Twelve Australians have been selected to compete in Switzerland. Congratulations to the following:
Lania Atkins (The Dance Spot)
Emily Bray (Jane Moore Academy of Ballet)
Edward Cooper (Sayers Dance Centre)
Aiden Foster (Charlesworth Ballet Institute)
Brayden Gallucci (Alegria Dance Studios)
Makensie Henson (Prudence Bowen Atelier)
Riley Lapham (The Australian Ballet School)
Grace Robson  (The Royal Conservatorium)
Naomi Sano (Sydney Ballet School)
George Susman (The Dance Spot)
Natalie Taylor (Tanya Pearson Classical Coaching Academy)
Freya Wilkinson (The Australian Conservatoire of Ballet)
Also, trained in Australia but representing their country of birth are Katherine Sonnekus (Tanya Pearson Classical Coaching Academy) from New Zealand and Kim Seu (The Australian Ballet School) from Korea.
There are four rigorous phases of the Prix de Lausanne. Phase 1 involves a medical/physical evaluation, and phase 2 is the assessment of a specific video submission. Phase 3 involves the candidates performing live over five days and a day of networking in Switzerland, before the final phase of the grand final.
Last year, Australian Harrison Lee was a major Scholarship winner in the Finals and is currently training with the Royal ballet School in London.