Published on 6th May, 2009

Nominees just announced for the 2009 Australian Dance Awards! Congrats all!

The 2009 Australian Dance Awards, will take place at the Arts Centre, State Theatre in Melbourne on Sunday 7 June, co-hosted by Paul Mercurio and The Australian Ballet’s Lucinda Dunn.

Awards will be presented in the following categories: SHORTLISTED NOMINEES

Services to Dance
Lee Christofis
Shane Colquhoun
Ruth Osborne
Hilary Trotter

Outstanding Achievement in Dance Education
Ralph Buck
Valda Craig
Jeff Meiners
Maggi Phillips

Outstanding Achievement in Youth or Community Dance
QL2 Centre for Youth Dance for My Brother, My Sister
Restless Dance Theatre and Rawcus Theatre Company for The Heart of Another is a Dark Forest
Stompin for Uncover This
Tracks for Struck

Outstanding Achievement in Choreography
Rafael Bonachela for 360 Degrees
Kate Champion for The Age I’m In
Tanja Liedtke for construct
Gavin Webber and dancers for Remember Me

Outstanding Performance by a Company
The Australian Ballet for Swan Lake
Dancenorth for Underground
Force Majeure for The Age I’m In
Sydney Dance Company for Sid’s Waltzing Masquerade

Outstanding Achievement in Independent Dance
Antony Hamilton for Blazeblue Oneline
Sue Healey for The Curiosities
Michelle Heaven in collaboration with Ben Cobham, Brian Lucas and Bill McDonald
for Disagreeable Object
Tanja Liedtke for construct

Outstanding Performance by a Female Dancer
Kristina Chan in construct (Tanja Liedtke)
Lisa Griffiths in Impulse and Shimmer (Leigh Warren & Dancers)
Annabel Knight in 360 Degrees (Sydney Dance Company)
Kirstie McCracken in Structure & Sadness (Lucy Guerin Inc.)

Outstanding Performance by a Male Dancer
Antony Hamilton in Corridor (Lucy Guerin Inc.)
Kevin Jackson in Manon (The Australian Ballet)
Reed Luplau in Sid’s Waltzing Masquerade (Sydney Dance Company)
Paul White in construct (Tanja Leidtke)
Remi Wörtmeyer in Manon (The Australian Ballet)

Outstanding Performance in a Stage Musical
Nick Twiney, Rarmian Newton, Rhys Kosakowski, Lochlan Denholm,
Joshua Waiss Gates, Dayton Tavares, Joshua Denyer & Michael Dameski in Billy Elliot The Musical
Genevieve Lemon in Billy Elliot The Musical
Amanda Harrison in Wicked
Eddie Perfect in Shane Warne The Musical

Dance on Film
Chris Scherer for If The Shoe Fits
Richard James Allen for Sleepwalking
Adam Wheeler & Daniel Speed for Uncover This

Australian Dance Awards
Sunday 7 June @7:30pm
The Arts Centre, State Theatre

Bookings: Ticketmaster outlets 13 61 00 or – under 26 $10 balcony tix available!!!
For further information visit


All comments will be moderated and approved by our team before they appear on our site. Thank you.