Winners of Sharp Short Dance

Amari Leiva Urzua in Al Mal Tiempo

Full Results of Sharp Short Dance 2020

Saskia Ellis

This year saw popular independent dance festival, Sharp Short Dance, being held through a series of online heats and a live streamed final over October and November.

Hosted by FORM Dance Projects the winners of its annual youth dance festival were announced following a live-streamed final event held on Saturday 21st November 2020.

Sharp Short Dance provides an opportunity for dancers and choreographers aged 21 years and under to show their works to a panel of industry professionals and win highly sought-after industry secondments with major professional dance companies. Now a mainstay on the annual dance calendar, it showcases the work of young dancers and choreographers, film makers and music creators from around Australia.

Chris Wade

This year’s judging panel was comprised of some of the industry’s most respected names including Omer Backley- Astrachan (Sydney Dance Company’s Pre-Professional Year Course Coordinator), Shaun Parker (Artistic Director of Shaun Parker & Company), Jo Clancy (Founder and Director of the Wagana Dancers), Emma Saunders (FORM/WE ARE HERE Company associate artist), Melissa Ramos (Founder and Director of Dance Cinema), Jamie Winbank (independent dance artist, producer and choreographer), and Aruna Gandhi (Founder and Director of Silambam-Sydney).

Usually held at Riverside Theatres in Parramatta, the festival was moved online this year so that it could proceed in COVID Safe conditions.

Lucy Angel

The 2020 Sharp Short Dance winners are:

Most Innovative ChoreographySaskia Ellis (Earthern)

Most Innovative Choreography (Junior)Amari Leiva Urzua (Al Mal Tiempo)

Most Outstanding Talent Isaac Clark (Masque)

Outstanding Female DancerDanni Cook (To Fear, To Feel)

Outstanding Male DancerChris Wade (Volatile)

Outstanding Solo PerformanceLucy Angel (Moonlight)

Outstanding Duet PerformanceRuby Howard & Toby McKnight (Try Not To Break It)

Ruby Howard and Toby McKnight

Outstanding Ensemble PerformanceTaylor Mikic & Priyasha Naidoo (Prison Yard)

Outstanding Dance FilmGeorgia Gallagher (The Helper)

Audience Choice AwardFrances Orlina (Moon River)

Sydney Dance Company Pre-Professional Year SecondmentToby McKnight (Try Not To Break It)

Twisted Element SecondmentMia Ryan (Life Satisfaction)

Wild Hearts SecondmentNikitta Jancek (Perception)

We Are Here SecondmentPaul & Frank Barbara (Scala Ad Caelum), and Saskia Ellis (Earthern)

Shaun Parker and Company SecondmentPaul & Frank Barbara (Scala Ad Caelum), Derell Akrong (Prison Yard) and Priyasha Naidoo (Prison Yard)

Academy of Music and Performing Arts Summer IntensiveLily Cole (In My Dreams), Jannah Allen (Discomfort) and Sophia Kaloudis (Masque)

Frances Orlina
  • Facebook
  • Google+
  • WordPress
Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>