Sydney Theatre Awards Winners

Muriel’s Wedding was the big winner: Andrew Hallsworth (choreography), Madeleine Jones (supporting actress), Maggie McKenna (newcomer), Simon Phillips (direction of a musical).

2017 Sydney Theatre Awards 

Muriel’s Wedding’s Record Breaking Wins!

At a star-studded ceremony on January 22nd, the winners of the 2017 Sydney Theatre Awards were announced, with 37 Awards presented, shared between 18 productions which played in Sydney during the calendar year of 2017. Over 450 members of the Sydney theatre community packed the Everest Theatre at the Seymour Centre to celebrate the best of Sydney theatre.
The awards encompass all live theatre productions to be held in Sydney, including Musical Theatre.
New musical adaptation Muriel’s Wedding The Musical dominated both the nominations and gongs on the night – across all theatre styles – winning:

  • Best Newcomer Award – Maggie McKenna (Muriel’s Wedding) [shared with Zoe Terakes (A View From the Bridge)]
  • Best Mainstage Musical – Muriel’s Wedding (Sydney Theatre Co and Global Creatures)
  • Best Choreography – Andrew Hallsworth (Muriel’s Wedding)
  • Best Directional of a Musical – Simon Phillips (Muriel’s Wedding)
  • Best Musical Direction – Isaac Hayward (Muriel’s Wedding)
  • Best Female Actor in a Supporting Role in a Musical – Madeleine Jones (Muriel’s Wedding)
  • Best Original Score in a Mainstage Production – Kate Miller-Heidke and Keir Nuttall (Muriel’s Wedding)

Other awards in the Musical Theatre genre went to:

  • Best Independent Musical – Calamity Jane
  • Best Performance by Female Actor in a Leading Role in a Musical – Virginia Gay (Calamity Jane)
  • Best Performance by Male Actor in a Leading Role in a Musical – David Campbell (Assassins)
  • Best Performance by Male Actor in a Supporting Role in a Musical – Matthew Backer (Only Heaven Knows)
  • Best Cabaret production – Hot Brown Honey

Read more about the Sydney Theatre Awards and all the Musical Theatre Nominations here
The Sydney Theatre Award for Lifetime Achievement was presented to designer Brian Thomson, whose 46-year career began in 1971 with plays at the Old Tote, followed by the original Australian production of Hair, the original Royal Court production of The Rocky Horror Show, Australian and London productions of Jesus Christ Superstar, and the film Shirley Thompson Versus The Aliens. Brian is currently represented on stage in Melbourne by two musicals, Priscilla, Queen of the Desert and Dream Lover – The Bobby Darin Musical.
Presenters at the Awards Ceremony were Georgia Adamson, Amy Campbell, Kate Cherry, Lynette Curran, Rarriwuy Hick, Deborah Kennedy, Martin Kinnane, Mark Lee, Ewen Leslie, James Lugton, Penny McNamee, Ben Mingay, Lachlan Philpott, Natalie Saleeba, Scott Witt and John Xintavelonis; and there were performances by composer Naomi Livingston from her musical Evie May, Henry Brett, and a dance tribute to A Chorus Line.