MUSICALS TRULY APPRECIATEDLast night the nominees for the 2009 Helpmann Awards were announced in Sydney. Wicked is up for 12 nominations and Cate Blanchett’s War of the Roses has 11 nominations. Up for Best Musical is My Fair Lady, Wicked, Shane Warne The Musical and Monty Python’s Spamalot. Congrats to the all nominees. Below are a list of the choreography related awards.

Best Choreography in a Dance or Physical Theatre Production
Phillip Adams – Axeman Lullaby, BalletLab Association Inc
Stephen Page – Mathinna, Bangarra Dance Theatre
Rafael Bonachela – we unfold, Sydney Dance Company
Graeme Murphy – Firebird, The Australian Ballet
Best Choreography in a Musical
Nathan M. Wright – Gutenberg! The Musical!, Neil Gooding Productions, Ian Stenlake & James Millar
Jo Stone – Metro Street, State Theatre Company of South Australia, Arts Asia Pacific & Power Arts
Wayne Cilento – Wicked – Marc Platt, David Stone, Universal Pictures, The Araca Group, Jon B. Platt and John Frost
Gideon Obarzanek – Shane Warne The Musical, Token Event