Superstar Dancers – New TV Show!

Superstar Dancers - New TV Show!Nigel Lythgoe and Simon Fuller, the creators of formats such as American Idol and So You Think You Can Dance, are to launch a new dance series, with the working title, Superstar Dancers of the World, which is slated for broadcast in early 2009 in the US on NBC. Hosted by Michael Flatley, best known as the “Lord of the Dance,” the series will follow professionals from various genres of dance from eight countries compete against each other. Each team will be comprised of two soloists, one duo and one larger group. The eight countries currently scheduled to participate include Ireland, India, the U.S., Argentina, China, Russia, South Africa and Australia. The dance styles that will be represented on the show will be announced at a later date. Superstar Dancers of the World is from 19 Entertainment. Craig Plestis, the executive VP of alternative programming, development and specials for NBC Entertainment, commented, “This dance competition is very much like the Olympics. The physical feats these athletes and artists pull is mind-blowing, and we’re so excited to form what we hope will be the definitive dance competition to decide which nation has what it takes to be the best of the best in the world. With so much at stake, this is sure to be a roller coaster, and you never know what will happen next. Plus, with Nigel and Simon running the show, it will be done first class all the way.” “This is the most challenging and exhilarating project I’ve ever done,” said Lythgoe. “Nothing of this magnitude has ever been attempted before on television. We will bring to America different cultural styles of dancers-each performer the best in their genre-and the sheer mosaic of styles and energy is going to be nothing short of awe-inspiring.” An Australian broadcaster of the show has yet to be announced. While Ten has previously taken 19’s Idol and dance, this show with Michael Flatley hosting would seem to more suit Nine which is known to be looking for a dance style show for its schedule next year. Nine were unavailable for comment at press time.
SOURCE: Media Day