New Students for SDC

Sydney Dance Company have announced the 24 aspiring young Australian and New Zealand dancers selected to take part in their renowned Pre-Professional Year program.

Now in its third year, this 12-month intensive provides a unique training experience for aspiring contemporary dancers to train alongside the Sydney Dance Company ensemble and learn the ins-and-outs of a professional dance career.
In addition, the Sydney Dance Company Pre-Professional Year students have the opportunity to work with and learn from a variety of world renowned Australian and international guest choreographers, gaining valuable insight into their unique creative practice. Their end of year performance showcases new choreography created with these guest artists throughout the year.
Dancers from around Australia and New Zealand applied for the Pre-Professional Year 2016 course intake. Following a highly competitive audition process, the final cut comprises 13 dancers from New South Wales, four from Queensland, three from South Australia, two from Victoria and one each from the Northern Territory and New Zealand, all ranging in age from 17 to 21 years.
The dancers will begin their studies at Sydney Dance Company’s Walsh Bay studios in February 2016.
Sydney Dance Company’s Pre-Professional Year includes a nationally recognised outcome (qualification CUA40111 Certificate IV in Dance) through a partnering arrangement with ATOD (RTO 31624).
The 24 dancers are:
Bridgette Blake (Dromana, VIC)
Isabelle Bonanno (Minchinbury, NSW)
Maxine Carlisle (Castlecrag, NSW)
Jasmine Clement (Mudjimba, QLD)
Eliza Cooper (Drummoyne, NSW)
Courteney Cox (Christie Downs, SA)
Aidan Daley (Sutherland, NSW)
Hannah Evans (North Curl Curl, NSW)
Jessica Failli (Bacchus Marsh, VIC)
Gabryelle Galway (Red Hill, QLD)
Alexandra Graham (Epping, NSW)
Emma Grill (Rose Bay, NSW)
Amber Jackson (Berry, NSW)
Hayley Kelly (Anula, NT)
Jasmin Lancaster (Maroubra, NSW)
Cody Lavery (Gold Coast, QLD)
Shayarne Matheson (Concord, NSW)
Lisa McLaughlan (Blockhouse Bay, NZ)
Alex Mencinsky (Hunters Hill, NSW)
Emily Molnar (Marion, SA)
Mikayla Nangle (Bomaderry, NSW)
Cooper Terry (Mt Gambier, SA)
Montana Tomkyns (Annerley, QLD)
Isabella De Santis (Sylvania, NSW)