Mike Walsh Fellowships Awarded

Mike Walsh OBE

Eight Fellowships Awarded to Graduate Theatre Practitioners from the three Major Drama Schools – NIDA, VCA, WAAPA

The Mike Walsh Fellowships enable young theatre practitioners to travel overseas to further their knowledge and experience in their chosen fields of the performing arts, before returning to Australia to pursue their careers.
This year a shortlist of 13 was interviewed by Sandra Bates AM, Terence Clarke AM, Martin Gordon, and Mark Rowe, under the Chairmanship of Mike Walsh OBE.  The fellowships have been awarded to eight graduates from the National Institute of Dramatic Art (NIDA) in Sydney, The Victorian College of the Arts (VCA), and the Western Australian Academy of the Performing Arts (WAAPA), as follows:
Major Fellowships: Michelle Davidson (acting, WAAPA), Sarah Giles (directing, NIDA), and Kip Williams (directing, NIDA)
Minor Fellowships: Ben Gerrard (acting, NIDA), Douglas Hansell (acting, WAAPA), Sheridan Harbridge (acting, NIDA), Dominic Seeber (set construction, WAAPA)
Grant: Nikki Shiels (acting, VCA)
The Fellowships were first awarded to graduates from NIDA only, but as Mike’s theatre business interests expanded, and now include Melbourne with his acquisition of Her Majesty’s Theatre, he decided in 2011 to extend the eligibility of the Fellowships to graduates from the VCA and WAAPA.  The total value of the annual awards was increased to $50,000, and including this year, over $630,000 has been awarded.
Previous Fellows include: Damien Cooper, Helen Dallimore, Peter England, Justin Kurzel, Joshua Lawson, Patrick Nolan, Dan Potra, and Michael Wilkinson.

Information – www.mikewalsh.com.au/fellowships