ABS Scholarship Awards Winners

Jett Ramsey, senior winner of The Australian Ballet School Scholarship Awards dancing the Slave Variation from Act II of Le Corsaire. Photo Belinda Strodder

The Australian Ballet School’s Inaugural Scholarships Awards

Finalists & Winners

The first-ever Scholarship Awards for The Australian Ballet School were held over the weekend of June 10-12 in Melbourne at the School’s ballet centre. The Awards were open to competitors between 10 – 17 years of age, with winners provided a pathway to further their ballet training.
The weekend saw hundreds of dancers compete on stage and participate in masterclasses, before finalists in three age groups were selected to perform their classical variations.
The winners for each age group are as follows:
10-12 years
Supreme Winner: Mio Bayly (Anita Coutts School of Dance, VIC)
Runners-Up: Alfie Shatlock (The Dance Centre Peregian Springs, QLD) & Samantha Wong (Denise Utz School of Dance, NSW)
Special/Discretionary Awards: Isabella Smith (The West Australian School of Dance, WA) & Hayley Kirkwood (Amanda Bollinger School of Dance, QLD)
Finalists:  May Bourke, Henrietta Foley, Grace Fazer-Sneddon
13-14 years
Supreme Winner: Larissa Kiyoto-Ward (Mt Eden Ballet Academy, NZ)
Runners-Up: Hugo Dumapit (McDonald College, NSW) & Annabelle Watt (Classical Coaching Academy, NSW)
Special/Discretionary Awards: Phillipa Crawley (Ballarat Ballet Centre, VIC) & Olivia Moore (Dance Education Centre, NZ)
Finalists: Jasmine Henry, Jessica Ford, Maidie Widmar.
15-17 years
Supreme Winner: Jett Ramsey (Extreme Dance Studios, NSW)
Runners-Up: Isabella Wagar (Jan Moore Academy of Ballet, VIC) & Heidi Freeman (KCs School of Dance, VIC)
Finalists:  Abbey Lavery, Camryn Jefferson, Georgia Baker, Ashley Kate Walsh
Prizes include: 3x Full One Year Scholarships to train at the School in 2017 & 6x Two-Week Training Opportunities to train at the School in 2017.
“The Australian Ballet School is one of the great vocational Ballet schools of world. It is very exciting that dancers from across the country will be able to come together to compete for opportunities to train at this prestigious school. For more than 50 years the majority of The Australian Ballet’s dancers have trained through The Australian Ballet School and this Scholarship could be the beginning for the next generation of young dancers to also become members of our national company. We are proud to be a part of this wonderful initiative of The Australian Ballet School,” said David McAllister AM, Artistic Director of The Australian Ballet
For information on the 2017 Scholarship Awards please contact awards@australianballetschool.com.au
For images check out The Australian Ballet School on Instagram